Time for a change

Remicade was the first arthritis medication that really worked for me. I mean the others helped somewhat, but they never seemed to make that real difference that I was looking for. With everything else I was slightly better, but nowhere near functional. On Remicade I’ve been able to attend college, and even compete as a college athlete. It has never put me in remission, but it’s brought me really close. I’ve been on Remicade for just over three years. It seems crazy that it’s been so long as I still remember vividly the day that I had my first infusion. But lately Remicade hasn’t been working as well for me. Over those three and a half years I’ve gone from infusions even eight weeks, to every six weeks, and now every four. Yet even going ever 4 weeks I’ve had some pretty big flare ups. That coupled with the inconvenience of having to go into Boston Childrens Hospital so frequently, as well as a number of odd side effects I have (hyperinsulinism being one of them), has led my rheumatologist and I to decide that it’s time for a change.

This week I will be leaving my faithful friend Remicade behind and starting Humira. Its a change that will hopefully be for the best, but as with any major change I’m anxious. Sure Remicade wasn’t working as well for me as it used to, but what if Humira is even less effective? My rheumatologist has reassured me that she thinks Humira will work great for me, after all it’s mechanism of action isn’t that different from Remicade. But still I have this niggling worry that she might be wrong, that I’ll switch to Humira and be worse off. After all Humira doesn’t work for everyone, including people who respond to Remicade. But then again maybe I’m worried over nothing. Maybe Humira will be wonderful. Maybe I’ll even finally go into remission. Maybe… maybe.. maybe. I guess only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

