Two years and counting

Two years ago to the day I experienced the onset of symptoms that lead to my diagnosis of Enthesitis Related Arthritis. I remember that day with a clarity that time has been unable to erase. The stabbing pain that was mistaken for appendicitis one too many times. Somehow I think I will always remember that day, will always be able to cast my mind back to it and see it exactly as it was. Who could forget the moment their life started to change? Who could forget the moment where you felt like everything had been pulled from underneath you?

But having said all that I completely forgot that today was the day, and if it hadn’t been for a comment from my friend that triggered the memory it would have completely flown by without me being any the wiser. Whereas last year was the complete opposite, I knew it was coming from a mile away. I had more of a count down for my first year anniversary f the day arthritis entered my life than I did for my birthday, which happens to be four days later. It felt like this big milestone that I had managed to survive with my little friend arthritis for a whole year. I had come out a little bit battered and bruised, but I had come out the other end. We had a cake to celebrate my one year anniversary, because it’s always better to laugh than to cry right.

I don’t think it’s a bad thing that this years anniversary almost snuck by. It means that I don’t think about arthritis all the time, that there are more important things, and rightly so. It reminds me how lucky I am, to have a relatively low amount of disease activity at this time, and while I might not be in remission, I am a hell of a lot closer to it than I was last year. Two years on and I’m still showing that I may have arthritis, but arthritis doesn’t have me.

2 thoughts on “Two years and counting

  1. Gud morning Justanotherspoonie! congratulations seems 2b in order? I draw courage fm ur positive attitude and I keep you in my prayers. lots of luv!!!!! Esme Pudule

Leave a Reply

