Wisdom Teeth surgery

So yesterday I had all for of my Wisdom teeth removed, something that I admittedly was a bit anxious for. We got to the hospital early, got checked in and sent up to the day ward, where a nurse came and asked me all of the pre-op questions. You know the ones: name, any allergies, any illnesses, medications. She then came back with three hospital tags. One with my name on and hospital ID, one with the procedure I was having on it, and the third had my relevant medical information. When I looked at the third I had to stop myself from bursting into laughter, because of the spelling and interpretation of my answers. Some of it was fine, but then I get to my apparent irratatabile bowel syndrome and even better I had been given a new diagnosis, I’m sure the first of its kind, instead of stating that I had juvenile arthritis, the tag said jonovial arthritis. So my mum and I had a good laugh about this, and it eased the anxiety a bit, which is always a good thing.

Quite a while later I was taken up to surgery, where my anaesthetist poked around an IV for a while, but eventually gave up on the third one after what seemed like ages, but managed to get the second try in without too much trouble, although still quite a lot of jiggling to get it in place. Apparently I have very hard veins, which I haven’t heard before, and which worries me a bit, as I have heard it can happened. I also have tiny veins, which I know, but that seems to be getting a bit worse too. Hopefully it doesn’t get any worse. I have heard of so many people who have had to get ports put in because of similar things, and I never want to get to that stage.

Anyway I woke up from surgery, which the doctor told my mum went well. Only one problem, the tube that they had put up my nose and down my throat had irritated my throat muscles, causing them to feel very weak and like they were continuously closing off. I have had trouble with muscle weakness and swallowing before, and this felt similar, so we think the tube caused this to flare up a bit. So I had quite a long period of time where I was really unable to swallow much, not even my own saliva. This was a horrible experience, and a feeling that I would be happy never to experience again. Having to constantly clear your throat, spitting out blood and saliva because I couldn’t swallow it was, no fun, and not what I expected at all. So recovery took a while, about 1 1/2 hours to 2 hours, as we had to wait for my muscles to start to settle down, which they have mostly, but not completely yet. finally with some juice and ice-cream in me I could go home.

I had some trouble with stitches loosening that evening causing quite a lot of bleeding and the continued muscle weakness. thank goodness I have my mum, whose a doctor, and able to assess me when things go wrong, so I know if it’s really a problem or something that will pass.

Today I have had two nose bleeds, which I was told could happen from the tube, and some trouble with my jaw, which seems to have locked up a bit. It doesn’t want to open much more than a ringer wide (the amount of fingers you can insert into your mouth), which makes eating quite hard, but I’m hoping it’s just irritation and will pass soon. Besides that it seems to be healing fine, no infections (I had IV antibiotics yesterday and will be on oral antibiotics for ten days to try to prevent any chance of infection, especially as I have a compromised immune system), not too much tenderness, or swelling. I no longer look like a squirrel that has been trying to store enough nuts for winter in its cheeks, just some slight swelling left.

so I see my doc in a week, to see how it’s getting on. So I will update then. Tomorrow I will head off to the endocrinologist to see if we can discover why my blood sugars have been so up and down recently.

 

Leave a Reply

