Technology dependant: HAWMC Day 23

  • Write about how your life would change if there was no social media.

I think I would feel a lot more isolated with my condition, if I was not able to connect through the internet with others with my disease, autoimmune diseases, or just chronic diseases in general. Social media has allowed me to truly see that others go through the same or similar things to me, as I am able to glimpse into their lives, via blogs, Facebook, twitter, support groups and so many other means. It reminds me that I am not alone, and often validates what I am feeling. The anger, the frustration, the isolation, the sadness, and the joys and happiness too. It means that there is someone else there who I can talk to, who knows exactly what I am talking about. This allows a very different kind of support to that which your family or friends can give you. Even if that is great too. It allows me to bounce ideas off people who know the ins and outs of the diagnosis, the doctors visits, the meds, and so much else. To gain knowledge from people who know more, have experienced more or have been battling these diseases for longer than I have, or just has taken a different approach. It also allows me to give this back to others, to help them when they need some guidance. To comfort them when they are in that black hole that is grief and despair. To celebrate their highs, and stand strong through the lows. To be a friend who knows. This is the greatest gift that this experience in the world that is social media. Something that would be sorely missed…

Social media can be that life line that you are looking for. In some way it was this and so much more for me. without social media I wouldn’t be the person that I am today.

 

One thought on “Technology dependant: HAWMC Day 23

Leave a Reply

