It’s day 21 so let’s talk about adversity

 “The flower that blooms in adversity is the rarest and most beautiful of all.” – Mulan True or false? When do you bloom best?

I think that there is a lot of truth to it. Adversity is character building. Whether that adversity come from Chronic Illness, or another challenge. Maybe something you had to overcome at school, or leaving your parents at a young age to go to boarding school, and so much else. Adversity comes in many shapes and sizes, and we can either turn towards it and take the challenge, face it head on, or turn or back on it. In this way I think that adversity can make the bud turn into a beautiful rose, but only if we choose to use it to make it stronger, to bring out traits in ourselves we didn’t know we had, and strengthen others that were already there. But if we choose to turn bitter, to crawl into a hole and stay there (as we all need the shelter of that hole sometimes), to hate the world and everything that comes with it. So yes I think that it can morph us into something better, more beautiful. It can also head the other way.

For myself though I think that adversity has in some ways been a gift. Due to it I have learnt how to be a stronger more confidant person. Someone who is more compassionate, understanding and kind to those around me. I think I am less likely to judge a person based on appearance (even though I tried not to before I wasn’t perfect and still am not), as I have been on the other side of those stares, the whispers, the looks. Why is such a healthy looking girl in a wheelchair? on crutches? walking so slow/funny? I think, I hope, that I have used this challenge to bring out the best in me. I know it certainly has help mould who I am today

 

Leave a Reply

