HAWMC DAY1

So the day has finally come to start the Health Activist Writer’s Monthly Challenge. So for day one the prompt given was:

  • Why you write – tell us a little bit about why you write about your health online and what got you started.

I decided to start writing in order to help spread awareness about autoimmune diseases, and how serious and consuming they can be. I think that lots of people, even some doctors, know very little about what having an autoimmune disease like Crohn’s, Behcet’s, RA, Ankylosing Spondylitis, and many many more, truly entails. What all the symptoms are, especially the less known, and what it is like to live with one of these diseases. I wanted this blog to be like a window into my world, a life with chronic illness, so that anyone who wants to  can better understand.

It is a place where I feel safe to say all that I feel, a place to rant if I need to. A place to help me work through all of this, a project that I have found healing.

But most importantly I wanted  to write in order to help people who are diagnosed with autoimmune diseases, newly diagnosed and the seasoned ones as well. So that, especially someone who is newly diagnosed, can see that there is life with autoimmune diseases and chronic diseases (any chronic disease), you just have to keep picking yourself up, keep trying and moving forward. I wanted to do this, because I remember how it was to be newly diagnosed. To be afraid, shocked, and unable to truly  grasp what it all meant, how it would impact me. I honestly thought in the beginning that I would take some meds, and in a couple of weeks, maybe months at most, I would be better. I would be ‘normal’ again, and no-one lead me to believe otherwise.

Soon I realised that no-one who hadn’t experienced what I had could truly understand me, understand my struggles, my life. It was not for lack of caring nor trying. It was not their fault, but non the less it made me feel so alone. There where even times when I felt like I was the only one who had ever felt like this, ever experienced what I had. Even though I knew that wasn’t right. But common sense doesn’t always take precedence over emotions.

When I found other blogs about people living life with chronic illness, participated in forums on the topic, I didn’t feel as alone. I knew I wasn’t the only one, trying to stay adrift in this harsh sea of life, and it helped.

So I wanted to pay it forward. Start my own blog, and maybe one day, I will have the honour of helping someone else.

2 thoughts on “HAWMC DAY1

  1. Morning Rebecca. I’ve met you briefly at your home when I visited your Mom one day and today I read your daily blog and I am inspired by your ability to express your thoughts and emotions so honestly and openly – straight from the heart!
    Many thoughts and prayers for you and encouragement to your support structure.
    Greetings Esme

    • Hi,
      I’m sorry I barely remember you, but mom says you are lovely, so you must be. I am glad that you like my blog, and that I have been able to inspire you in some way. I think for me the only way I can right this blog is from the heart, as it is so personal, but it took me a long time to get to the stage that I can put it out there. Mum has been nagging me for ages to start a blog, but I couldn’t until I was in the right place.
      I hope that you are doing well,
      Rebecca

Leave a Reply

