When Things Don’t Go Your Way

Since I was a little girl, Easter has always been one of those magical days. A day that I would look forward to long before it would come. A day where memories were made. A day that no matter what, brought the rising of the sun.

I have always enjoyed the family traditions that easter brings. The dying/colouring of hard boiled eggs, that left my fingers like rainbows for days. The reading of the Easter story by my dad, while mom made tea (magically became the Easter Bunny). The fun and excitement, that was the frantic race to find more easter goodies than my siblings (even though they were always shared out at the end). The feeling of indulgence and something a bit magical, as we all enjoyed eating too much sweet treats together.

Today however was not that kind of day. Not for the lack of egg hiding (yes I still enjoy this at 19, and plan to always. I mean why ever not?), nor abundance of chocolate and family. But dues to my health. Today I felt awful. I have GI problems, which leave me with awful stomach pain, headaches, joint pain has decided to bring it up a notch, sore throat, lymph-nodes, and the list continues. One could and has deemed it a horrible day.

But despite all this there have been moments of excitement, joy and even laughter. Just because it wasn’t the day I envisioned, doesn’t mean it wasn’t special in it’s own way. I was so disappointed that I felt bad, that I almost let it detract from all of the good things in the day. At this moment, two quotes I love come to mind:

“What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Do not let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do.” – John Wooden

I think sometimes a lot of us get so caught up in how bad we feel, in the disappointments, the missed opportunities, and just how different life has become. I am not saying that it isn’t hard. I’m not saying you can’t have your down days/moments, I know I do. But sometimes we get so caught up in it that we forget to stop and smell the roses, and appreciate the little things. And it is often the little things that make the difference, because for noticing them, maybe they are actually great. It’s not what life throws at us (and it throws a lot at most of us) that matters, but what we make of it, as so many of you know.

I leave you with this poem and hope that your day has been better than mine, or at least that it has been brightened by the little joys that each day holds. Happy Easter.

Happiness by George Savige

You cannot buy your happiness,
‘Cause happiness is free.
Don’t you know, or can’t you guess,
It’s there for you and me.
And what you do with what you’ve got,
Can change the way you feel.
Just do your best and smile a lot,
You’ll keep an even keel.

‘Cause happiness is made for YOU,
Just take a bite and see
That happiness is what you do
With something that is free.

Leave a Reply

